» Blog Archive » Stirling prize 2005


Stirling prize 2005

The Scottish Parliament building by Miralles (now known as EMBT) was announced on Saturday as this year’s winner of the Stirling Prize.


“The Scottish Parliament building at Holyrood has been declared the winner of one of the most prestigious architecture awards in the world. The tenth anniversary RIBA Stirling Prize Award was presented to representatives from the joint architecture partnership which designed the building, EMBT/RMJM, at an official awards ceremony in the Museum of Scotland on Saturday. After the event, Presiding Officer George Reid said: “The Stirling Prize confirms the Scottish Parliament as Britain’s most important new building. The judges have decided that Holyrood is not just a working legislature but a work of art.” It is the first time in the award’s ten year history that a building in Scotland has won the prize.”

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.